Peace Meditation and Prayer Feb 9 2003

February 9, 2003, became a general focus for large numbers of people intent on invoking imaginational means to prevent war. Many groups contributed encouragement and structured events to allow people around the world to join in meditations and prayers for peace in the world, and peaceful resolution of the crises now troubling us. One of the major promotions was by James Twyman, Doreen Virtue, and Gregg Braden who began weeks earlier asking everyone who could do so to join in "Living and Praying Peace". They called their organized effort "Great Experiment III", as the third event of its kind promoted over the web and by word of mouth. By mid-January, I had gotten half a dozen independent notes about that event, which had a feeling of clarity and humble intent, as well as a deep urgency of purpose because of the growing danger of major clashes and war in the middle east and especially in Iraq. Included in the material I have received is this beautiful quote from Mother Theresa: "I was once asked why I don't participate in anti-war demonstrations. I said that I will never do that, but as soon as you have a pro-peace rally, I'll be there."

"People everywhere are invited to focus their prayers of peace, sending a wave of healing energy to the governments of both the US and Iraq. The time is set for Sunday, February 9 at noon New York time (9 AM Pacific, 5 PM London)."

Our formal prediction and analysis was focused on the hour from 12:00 to 13:00 EST. The analytical result is essentially flat, as the next figure shows, with Chisquare 3621.5 on 3600 df, for p = 0.397. The second figure below shows the larger context of the whole GMT day. Here also there is no clear trend associated with this event. Personally I would have liked to see a large and steady deviation. In any case I strongly hope the peace prayers will be answered.

Peace Meditation Feb 9 2003

Context Feb 9 2003

Our working assumption is that eggs all over the world will react to global events, but this is an empirical question, and we find some cases where distance or local relevance does seem to matter. A primary focus in this case was the middle east, so we looked at the data from our egg located in Israel. It also shows no clear trend.

Israel Egg only

GCP Home